Early Career Achievement Award

History of the Award

The Early Career Achievement Award was established in 1999 to recognize the work of one member each year who is in the early part of her or his career.

Criteria for Consideration for the Award
To be eligible for consideration for the Award, an individual must:

  • Have been a member of LRA for at least three (but not necessarily consecutive) years; and
  • Have graduated with a doctoral degree no more than seven years from the date of nomination.

Each year a call and deadline (usually mid-April) for nominations are announced in the LRA spring newsletter and on the listserv. Eligible members may either self-nominate or be nominated by another LRA member. Nominations are in the form of a letter describing the nominee’s qualifications for the Award, with priority given to the nominee’s achievements in: 1) research; 2) publication and impact of contributions to the field; 3) service; and 4) teaching. Letters may be sent either by mail or electronically to the committee chair.

All nominated members who meet the eligibility requirement will be contacted by the committee chair in April and asked to submit:

  • A letter of support from their home institutions;
  • A current curriculum vita, including all publications, degrees, honors and awards, and service on editorial boards of research journals; and
  • A written statement by the nominee that describes their professional growth and research agenda.

Review Process
Submitted materials for each nominee will be reviewed and voted upon by all committee members. Nominees are notified of their status in mid-August, and the Award is presented publicly at the annual conference of LRA. Awardees receive $500 and an engraved plaque.

Early Career Achievement Award Winners 
Cindy Brock (1999) 
Joyce Many (1999) 
Elizabeth Birr Moje (2000) 
Lawrence R. Sipe (2001)
George KamberElis (2002) 
Nell Duke (2003)
Rebecca Rogers (2004) 
Melanie Kuhn (2005)
Beth Maloch (2006)
Sharon Walpole (2007)
Nancy Frey (2008)
Misty Sailors(2009)
Leigh A. Hall (2010)
Julie Coiro (2011)
Kristen H. Perry (2012)
Allison Skerrett (2013)
Dr. Amy Hutchinson (2014)
Steven J. Amendum (2015)
Tisha Lewis Ellison (2016)
Amy Wilson Lopez (2017)