Ethics Committee

Committee Chair

Haeny Yoon (2019 - 2022)
Columbia University
[email protected]

Committee Members

Marcella Kehus, ([email protected]), Committee Member, (2018 - 2021)
Jen Scott Curwood, ([email protected]), Committee Member, (2018 - 2021)
Korina Jocson, ([email protected]), Committee Member, (2018 - 2021)
Ted Kesler, ([email protected]), Committee Member, (2019 - 2022)
Karen Spector, ([email protected]), Committee Member, (2019 - 2022)
Grace Player, ([email protected]), Committee Member, (2020 - 2023)


Standing Committee Support


Ramon Martinez (2020 - 2023)
Stanford University
[email protected]


  • To educate and provide guidance to LRA members and to those with whom they interact about the ethical principles as outlined in the Ethics Statement. 
  • To serve as a resource to the membership regarding ethical issues arising in aspects of their research.
  • To assist and advise the Executive Committee and Board of Directors in addressing ethical issues. 
  • To facilitate and encourage discussion of ethical issues among the LRA community. 
    • Informing the membership of the organization's Ethics Statement, such as a symposium at the Annual Conference on ethical issues relevant to the practice of literacy research and/or a newsletter column. 
    • To find and implement a variety of opportunities for the LRA membership to raise, discuss, consider, and, if desired, respond to general ethical issues currently arising in relation to literacy research and/or education. 
    • Undertaking periodic reviews of the Ethics Statement to ensure that it addresses the ethical issues that arise in the changing context of literacy research.