J. Michael Parker Award

History of the Award

LRA awards the J. Michael Parker Award to encourage research in adult literacy. The award is given to a doctoral student or early-career, untenured faculty for papers they present at the conference that address adult learning or education. The award is designed to encourage work in adult literacy with a variety of populations, including, but not limited to, learners in formal settings such as adult basic education and ESOL classes, as well as those engaged in literacy practices embedded in diverse cultural settings. The award was established in 2001 in honor of J. Michael Parker, winner of LRA’s Student Outstanding Research Award. Recipients of the award receive a small cash award to be used for conference expenses and are recognized during a general session of the conference.

The award is presented to both papers with a single author and to co-authored papers. All of the author(s) of the paper must be doctoral students or early-career, untenured faculty at the time of the paper submission (October 1, prior to the Annual Meeting).   For single authored papers, the recipient will receive $500 and a plaque commemorating the award. For co-authored papers, the recipients will each receive a plaque and will decide amongst themselves how to divide the $500 award.

Criteria for Consideration for the Award

  1. The research is capable of making a significant contribution to theory and/or practice of adult learning and instruction.
  2. The methodology is appropriate to the research question and of sufficient rigor.
  3. Implications of the research are of a scope needed to impact the field.

Applicants are required to submit the full paper (25 pages or less) electronically by October 1 2017.  Papers must be double-spaced and in 12-point font. The text limit does not include references and any appendices.

Submissions and questions should be sent to the Committee Chair:

Donita Shaw
Oklahoma State University


Review Process
Applicants will be notified of the results prior to the conference, and the plaque and honorarium will be presented to the winner during a plenary session at the conference.

J. Michael Parker Award Winners
Robin Waterman (2006) “The Value of Mexican mothers, The Power of Effective Adult Education: Fueling viable parent involvement through school-based ESL classes”

Amy Johnson (2007) “Literacy as Answerable Response: A Life History Portrait of an African American Woman in a Rural Southern Community”

Kristin Perry (2007) “More than Language Translation: Culture, Text and Genre Aspects of Literacy Brokering among Sudanese Refugees”

Tisha Y. Lewis (2008) "My Life is Shaped Around Digital Literacies: An African-American Woman's Journey"

Amy Trawick (2008) "Adult Intermediate Readers' Cultural Models of Reading"

Holly Hungerford-Kresser (2009) "Navigating Early College: Literacy Experiences and Identity Negotiations of Latino Students"

Silvia Cecilia Nogueron (2010) "Negotiating the Codes of Power to Technology: Complexities in Immigrant Women’s Digital Literacy Socialization Trajectories"

Laurie A. Henry (2011) "Literacy Content Knowledge Expertise among Adult Education Providers in Kentucky"

Leah Katherine Saal (2012) “I’m still a slave”: A Literacy Lesson from an Adult “Burgeoning” Reader.”

Dr. Kathleen Alley  (2013) Playing in Trelis Weyr: Investigating Collaborative Authorship in a Dragons of Pern Text-Based Role Play-Game Forum

Diane Taveggia, Ph.D. (2014) The Vocabulary Notebook as Vehicle for Independent Vocabulary Learning in Community College ELLs: Opening the Discussion to Theory As Well As Practice

Xia Chao, Ph.D. (2015) From Transmission to Transformation: Critical Pedagogy for Adult Immigrant ESL Literacy

Dr. Rossina Zamora Liu (2016).  Tensions Between Vulnerability and Public Literacy Spaces: Writers at a Homeless Shelter Negotiate Personal Narratives for Community.

Rachel Gruen (2017)

For more information about past winners and adult literacy activities in LRA, visit our blog at:http://jmpadultliteracy.wordpress.com/