Research Committee

Committee Chairs

Seth Parsons (2020 - 2022)
George Mason University
[email protected]

Committee Members

Amy Wilson Lopez, ([email protected]), Committee Member (2018 - 2021)
Lina Trigos-Carrillo, ([email protected]), Committee Member (2018 - 2021)
Ashley Patterson, ([email protected]) Committee Member (2019- 2022)
Darrell Hucks, ([email protected]), Committee Member (2019 - 2022)
Erin Quast, ([email protected]), Committee Member (2019 - 2022)
Jon Wargo, ([email protected]), Committee Member (2020 - 2023)
Idalia Nunez-Cortez, ([email protected]), Committee Member (2020 - 2023)
Tran Templeton, ([email protected]), Committee Member (2020 - 2023)

Committee Chairs

Mary McVee (2020 - 2023)
University of Buffalo
[email protected]


The purpose of the LRA Research Committee is to monitor and increase awareness of relevant trends in literacy and related research, as well as the overall status of research in the field and within LRA (e.g. citation rates, funding for literacy research). The committee is also responsible for monitoring opportunities for funded research related to literacy and promoting and facilitating efforts to seek available funding. The committee encourage and promotes the conduct and broad dissemination of ethical literacy research without undo restrictions, commercialization, and conflict of interest, including the dissemination of literacy research online. Finally, the committee serves as a resource to the Board of Directors and to Committees in matters pertaining to literacy research, and consults with the Annual Conference Committee Chair about issues related to research.

Past Presidential Addresses

Patricia Enciso and Kingston Award
Janice Almasi, University of Kentucky
Arlette Willis, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

David Reinking, Clemson University, (Powerpoint)
Kathleen A. Hinchman, Syracuse University
Norman A. Stahl, Northern Illinois University
Patricia A. Edwards, Michigan State University
Victoria Purcell-Gates, University of British Columbia
Donald J. Leu, University of Connecticut 
Lea M. McGee, University of Alabama
Lee Gunderson, University of British Columbia
Deborah R. Dillon
Peter B.Mosenthal, Syracuse University
Taffy E. Raphael, Oakland University
Linda Gambrell, Clemson University
Martha Rapp Ruddell, Sonoma State University
Kathryn H. Au, University of Hawaii
Richard L. Allington, The University of Albany - SUNY
Jane Hansen, University of New Hampshire
James Flood and Diane Lapp, San Diego State University
Rebecca Barr, National-Louis University and The Spencer Foundation
Donna E. Alvermann, University of Georgia
Robert J. Tierney, Ohio State University
Gerald G. Duffy
James V. Hoffman, University of Texas, Austin
Jerome C. Harste, Indiana University
P. David Pearson and Sheila Valencia, University of Illinois
Lenore H. Ringler, New York University
Shirley Brice Heath, Stanford University
Frank Greene, McGill University
Harry Singer, University of California, Riverside
J. Jaap Tuinman, Simon Fraser University
Edward Fry, Rutgers University

Additional Resources

Voice of Literacy and CITE-ITEL


Like and Follow the Research Committee on Twitter and Facebook!