Conference Research Areas & Area Chairs

LRA AREA CHAIRS 2016
(Area Chair Terms are for 3 years)

Area 1.  Pre-service Teacher Education in Literacy

Treavor Bogard

University of Dayton

tbogard1@udayton.edu

2015-2017

Caitlin Law Ryan

East Carolina University

Ryanca@ecu.edu

2015-2017

Rob Simon

University of Toronto

Rob.simon@utoronto.ca

2015-2017

Melissa Mosley Wetzel

The University of Texas-Austin

mmwetzel@utexas.edu

2016-2018

 

 

 

 

Area 2. In-service Teacher Education/Professional Development in Literacy

 

Soria Colomer

University of South Florida

Soria.colomer@gmail.com

2015-2017

Judson Laughter

University of Tennessee – Knoxville

jlaught3@utk.edu

2016-2018

Courtney Kelly

Manhattanville College

courtneyryankelly@gmail.com

2016-2018

Mary McGriff

New Jersey City University

mmcgriff@njcu.edu

2016-2018

Marva Soloman

Angelo State University

Marva.soloman@angelo.edu

2016-2018

 

 

 

 

Area 3. Literacy Instruction and Literacy Learning

Ted Kesler

Queens College - CUNY

tkesler@qc.cuny.edu

2015-2017

Sarah Vander Zanden

University of Northern Iowa

Sarah.vanderz@uni.edu

2015-2017

Keonghee Tao Han

University of Wyoming

khan@uwyo.edu

2016-2018

Jacqueline Lynch

York University

jlynch@edu.yorku.ca

2016-2018

Katherine Frankel

Boston University

kfrankel@bu.edu

2017-2019

 

 

 

 

Area 4. Literacy Assessment, Evaluation, and Public Policy

Sarah Beck

New York University

Sarah.beck@nyu.edu

2015-2017

Carolyn Colvin

University of Iowa

carolyn-colvin@uiowa.edu

2015-2017

Rachael Gabriel

University of Connecticut

rachael.gabriel@uconn.edu

2016-2018

 

 

 

 

Area 5. Early and Elementary Literacy Processes 

Maria Paula Ghiso

Teachers College

Mpg2134@tc.columbia.edu

2015-2017

Jill McClay

University of Alberta

jmcclay@ualberta.ca

2015-2017

Ying Guo

University of Cincinnati

guoy3@ucmail.uc.edu

2016-2018

 

 

 

 

Area 6.  Adolescent, College, and Adult Literacy Processes

Nathan Phillips

University of Illinois - Chicago

phillipn@uic.edu

2015-2017

Carol Delaney

Texas State University

cdelaney@txstate.edu

2016-2018

Heidi Bacon

Southern Illinois University - Carbondale

hrbacon@siu.edu

2016-2018

 

 

 

 

Area 7. Social, Cultural, and Political Issues of Literacy Practices In and Out of School

Michelle Honeyford

University of Manitoba

michelle.honeyford@umanitoba.ca

2015-2017

Kate Pahl

University of Sheffield

k.pahl@sheffield.ac.uk

2016-2018

Lenny Sanchez

University of Missouri-Columbia

sanchezo@missouri.edu

2016-2018

Judith Dunkerly-Bean

Old Dominion University

jdunkerl@odu.edu

2017-2019

 

 

 

 

Area 8. Literacy Learning and Practice in Multilingual and Multicultural Settings

Maneka D. Brooks

Texas State

maneka@txstate.edu

2015-2017

Mariana Pacheco  

University of Wisconsin-Madison

mariana.pacheco@wisc.edu

2016-2018

Julie Pennington  

University of Nevada-Reno

juliep@unr.edu   

2016-2018

Sandra Osario   

Illinois State University  

sosorio@ilstu.edu

2016-2018

Kwangok Song

Arkansas State University

ksong@astate.edu

2017-2019

 

 

 

 

Area 9. Text Analysis/Children’s, Young Adult, and Adult Literature

Denise Davila

University of Georgia

ddavila@uga.edu

2015-2017

Ebony Thomas

University of Pennsylvania

ebonyt@gse.upenn.edu

2015-2017

Jesse Gainer 

Texas State University  

JesseGainer@txstate.edu 

2016-2018

 

 

 

 

Area 10. Literacy Technology and Media

Amy Hutchinson

George Mason University

Ahutchi9@gmu.edu

2015-2017

Silvia Nogueron-Liu

University of Georgia

snoguero@uga.edu

2015-2017

Tisha Lewis

Georgia State University

tishayL@yahoo.com

2016-2018

 

 

 

 

Area 11. Research Theory, Methods, and Practices

Danny Martinez

UC Davis

dcmar@ucdavis.edu

2017-2019

Joseph Rumenapp

Judson University

Joseph.rumenapp@judsonu.edu

2017-2019

Kristin Conradi

The College of William and Mary

conradi@wm.edu

2016-2018

   

 

Area 12.  International Research on Literacy Teaching and Learning

Lori Czop Assaf

Texas State University

lassaf@txstate.edu

2017-2019

Patience Sowa

 

Patiencesowa95@gmail.com

2017-2019

Katina Zammit

Western Sydney University

k.zammit@westernsydney.edu.au

2017-2019

   

 

Area 13. Study Groups

Kristien Zenkov

University of Michigan

kzenkov@gmu.edu

2015-2017

Christine Mallozzi

University of Kentucky

christine.mallozzi@gmail.com

2016-2018

 

 

 

 

Area 14. Other Topics

Bong Gee Jang

Syracuse University

bojang@syr.edu

2017-2019

Candace Kuby 

University of Missouri-Columbia

kubyc@missouri.edu

2016-2018