Student Outstanding Research Award

History of the Award

The Annual LRA Student Outstanding Research Award was initiated in 1985 to encourage greater participation of students in LRA meetings and to honor excellent scholarship efforts. The award is given for an outstanding student conference paper, which may or may not be based on a dissertation. All forms of research, including conceptual papers, are welcomed. A version of the winning paper is published in the Yearbook. Application information is available on the web. Individuals who indicate that they are interested in applying for the award on the "Call for Proposal" form will be sent an e-mail reminder notice after conference proposal notices are completed. Applicants are encouraged to contact the Student Outstanding Research Award Committee Chair for information. Please check the criteria described below before requesting award information.

Criteria for Consideration for the Award

**Please review carefully as the application procedures have changed***

  1. The paper must be solely student-authored. It may be co-authored with other students, but cannot be co-authored with a faculty member, either as presented or in its published form.
  2. The paper must be based on the proposal submitted to the LRA Annual Conference Program while the author held student status, and based on research conducted by the student.
  3. The proposal must have been accepted for presentation at the conference.
  4. The cover sheet that is submitted with your award proposal must identify the title of your LRA presentation, your contact information, and be signed by a faculty member at your home institution to affirm that the applicant conducted the research and was a graduate student when the research was conducted.
  5. Materials, including the cover sheet, and one electronic version of the paper must be received by August 15, 2018 by the Student Outstanding Research Award Committee Chair: Doris Walker-Dalhouse.  Please email submissions to

IMPORTANT: Deadline to RECEIVE ALL applications is August 15, 2018.

Paper Guidelines

  • Paper must be no longer than 25 double-spaced pages typed in 12 point font with APA margins. All quotes must be double-spaced. The 25-page limitation includes all tables, appendices, graphs, charts, and other ancillaries to the text.Authors of papers not meeting these guidelines will be notified and given 3 days to comply with guidelines.
  • However, as many additional pages as necessary are permitted for listing references used in the paper.


Review Process

  • Papers will receive blind reviews by members of the Student Award Committee. Please check the body of the paper to make sure there are no author-identifying references. Also, please check the electronic file properties and delete identifying author information.
  • Review categories include:

◦                   SIGNIFICANCE

◦                   RATIONALE

◦                   METHODOLOGY

◦                   THEORETICAL SOUNDNESS


◦                   QUALITY OF WRITING

◦                   MOVES FIELD FORWARD

  • Applicants will be notified of results prior to the conference. The award will be presented at the conference, along with an honorarium of $500.
  • The committee will give revision recommendations to the winner, and the revised paper will be submitted to the Yearbook editor for publication by the yearbook's deadline. NOTE: Acceptance of the award is a commitment to publish the paper in the Yearbook. Publishing your paper in the Yearbook does not preclude sending an article from the same research project to another journal.


Recent award winners' LRA Yearbook publications:

  • 2004 Winner - Rebecca Deffes Silverman - Investigating Methods of Kindergarten Vocabulary Instruction: Which Methods Work Best?
  • 2005 Winner - Megan Madigan Peercy - "So That You'll Be Good Readers": ESL Teachers' Classroom Discourses About Reading
  • 2006 Winner - Antony T. Smith - The Middle School Literacy Coach: Considering Roles in Context
  • 2007 Winner - Elizabeth PetroeljeStolle - Teachers, Literacy, and Technology: Tensions, Complexities, Conceptualizations, and Practice.
  • 2008 Winner – Margarita Zisselsberger – Performing Persuasion: Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Learners Write their Script
  • 2008 Winner – Gary Paul Moser – The Effects of Repeated Readings Using Independent-Level Narrative and Informational Texts with Fourth-Grade Readers
  • 2009 Winner - Susan E. Bickerstaff–Authoring Lives:Youth Returning to School to Narrate Past, Present, and Future Selves
  • 2010 Winner - Amanda P. Goodwin – Does Meaning Matter for Reading Achievement? Untangling the Role of Phonological Recoding and Morphological Awareness in Predicting Word Decoding, Reading Vocabulary, and Reading Comprehension Achievement for Spanish-Speaking English Language Learners
  • 2011 Winner – Michael Manderino – Disciplinary Literacy in New Literacy Environments: Expanding the Intersections of Literacy Practice for Adolescents
  • 2011 Winner - Nathan Phillips and Blaine Smith – Multimodality and Aurality: Sound Spaces in Students Digital Book Trailers.
  • 2012 Winner - Melody Zoch - Crafting theoretically defensible literacy teaching practices while supporting students with test preparation.
  • 2013 Winner – Angie Zapata - Examining the Multimodal and Multilingual Composition Resources of Young Latino Picturebook Makers
  • 2014 Winner – Jaye Johnson Thiel - The Role of Objects in the Construction of Young Children's Literacies
  • 2015 Winner – Beth Buchholz - Dangling Literate Identities in Imagined Futures: Reading, Time, and Development in a K-6 Classroom
  • 2016 Winner - Dan Reynolds - Interactional Scaffolding for Reading Comprehension: A Systematic Review
  • 2017 Winner - Jennifer Reichenberg


List of Past Winners



Peter Afflerbach

The University of Albany, State University of New York


Deborah Wells Rowe

Indiana University


Maribeth Cassidy Schmitt

Purdue University


Sally Hague

University of Georgia


Joyce Many

Louisiana State University


Douglas K. Hartman

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign


Sarah J. McCarthey

Michigan State University


Debra K. Meyer

University of Texas, Austin


Janice F. Almasi

University of Maryland


Janet W. Bloodgood



Ann Watts Pailliotet

Syracuse University


Jane West

University of Georgia


Kathryn H. Davinroy




Lawrence R. Sipe

Susan Dymock

The Ohio State University

University of Waikato


Josephine Peyton Young

University of Georgia


Patrick Manyak

University of Southern California


Emily E. Rodgers

The Ohio State University


Rebecca Rogers

University of Albany, State University of New York


Nancy A. Place

University of Washington, Seattle


Kim Bobola

University of Maryland


Yoon-Hee Na

University of Texas, Austin


Rebecca Deffes Silverman

Harvard Graduate School of Education


Megan Madigan Peercy

University of Utah


Antony T. Smith

University of Washington, Seattle


Elizabeth Stolle

Arizona State University


Margarita Zisselsberger

Boston College


Gary Paul Moser



Susan E. Bickerstaff

University of Pennsylvania


Amanda P. Goodwin

University of Miami


Michael Manderino

Nathan Phillips and

Blaine E. Smith

Northern Illinois University

Vanderbilt University

Vanderbilt University


Melody Zoch

University of Texas, Austin


Angie Zapata

University of Texas, Austin


Jaye Johnson Thiel

University of Tennessee, Knoxville